• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Healthy Chicken Wraps

Hello Friends!

I have recently been trying to eat healthier at lunchtime, and have decided to share a few of the meal ideas with you this week.

healthy chicken wraps tomato cucumber cheese honey dijon chicken tortilla

First up we have Healthy Chicken Wraps.

Ingredients:
1 boneless skinless chicken breast, diced to approximately 1-inch cubes
spices (for flavoring chicken to your preference)
1 tomato
1 cucumber
Honey Dijon Mustard
Tortilla Wraps
Deli-Sliced Cheese of your choice (Provolone, Swiss, Colby-Jack, PepperJack, etc.)

Cook your chicken how you like it flavored. I cooked mine in a skillet with 1 tablespoon of Butter Olive Oil, 1 teaspoon of Garlic Mushroom Olive Oil, 1 teaspoon Garden Veggie Dip Mix, and 2 teaspoons Diced Tomato & Garlic Pesto Mix.

Cook over medium heat for approximately 12 minutes, until nice and tender, and no pink shows. Don’t overcook it though, as that will make dry chicken which is never good!

NOTE: Don’t heat olive oil before slicing chicken as that will cause smoke and fire alarms to go off, and other assorted irritants. Nope, I’ve never done that before, never! 😉

chicken skillet baked olive oil spices

Once done, your sliced chicken will look like this, or similar!

Store your chicken in the fridge in containers that will travel well with you to work (or wherever). I took one container, and put in all my chicken. Then in another container, I put a sharp paring knife, 1 tomato, 1 cucumber and my deli-sliced cheese. Since I love cheese, all kinds, I decided to do 1 slice of provolone and 1 slice of colby-jack per wrap. So I stuck 2 slices of each cheese in the container. Then I folded up 2 tortilla shells and stuck those in a plastic zippered bag to take in with me, as well as my bottle of honey dijon mustard!

Once you get to lunch, take your knife and dice up half of your tomato and a third of your cucumber into very small pieces. Trust me, it’s easier to eat as a wrap with smaller pieces, and spreads the taste around better!

Next, take your tortilla and spread the desired amount of Honey Dijon Mustard (this will have a kick, fair warning) all around. Place your 2 pieces of cheese in the middle (so the ends are cheese-less), top with a handful (or 2!) of chicken, your diced tomatoes and cucumbers, and fold like a burrito. And then….

chicken tomato cucumber tortilla cheese honey dijon healthy chicken wrap

Voilà! Healthy Chicken Wraps to enjoy for lunch!

So that is the first lunch item, stay tuned for more this week! Let me know what you think of this quick, easy, portable and healthy lunch idea!

Craft You Later,
Beth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I think it looks nice I have also been trying to eat healthy at lunch time but it can be quite difficult to come up with new ideas everyday especially when you’re tired after work + 3 kids running around the house.

    I found a few sites and pages offering decent suggestions I am on a bit of a wrap fix at the moment after reading this squidoo page: http://www.squidoo.com/sandwich-wrap-recipes
    I think hub pages and squidoo offer some good suggestions to keep a healthy diet going I will be trying your recipe on Tuesday 🙂

    Reply

So what do you think?

