• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Wednesday Beer Blog: Red Oak and Kind Breweries

Hello Again Beer Fiends!

A continuation of the brewers that were at the US National Whitewater Center a few weeks ago for the outdoor beer event they did. Since the next two breweries only had 5 beers between them, I decided to combine them into this blog entry. So sue me. (Really, please don’t sue me, this is purely an entertainment thing, no revenue, and my cat would starve, and do you really want to be the cause of that?!?! No? Whew, I knew you were good people, thank you!).

Red Oak Brewery

Red Oak Brewery. Ahhh, good old Red Oak. The name brings to mind a sturdy, don’t-mess-with-me tree, doesn’t it? For me, this is one of my favorite NC beers. I first heard of Red Oak when I waited tables back in my late teens, which was **gasp** almost a decade ago. I have see more and more Charlotte restaurants starting to carry it in the last two years, which makes me happy for Red Oak. Once I hit 21, of course, the restaurant didn’t carry Red Oak anymore (in lieu of Sam Adams, so really, who can complain — as a patron?), so I had to go looking for it to try. All the customers seemed to like it back when I waited tables, so I had wanted to try it to see what all the fuss was about. Score one for me, I found it eventually, and really really liked it. Smooth & tasty, mmmm.

So eventually, about 2 years ago, I was introduced to their other two brews, Hummin’ Bird, and Battlefield Bock. I’ve tried the Hummin’ Bird before, and really enjoyed its crisp, light ale taste. Having never tried the Bock before, I sampled some of that at this event. I really like Porters and Stouts, if you haven’t figured that out from my beer posts yet. So trying this Bock, I was anticipating great things since I like the other two RO brews so much. I was not disappointed, as this was a chocolate-coffee-cream flavor-filled beer that was thick like Guiness, but a little sweet like a Young’s Double Chocolate Stout. It was delicious.

Hummin’ Bird

Red Oak Amber Lager

Battlefield Bock

So that concludes the Red Oak Brewery segment of our event!

Kind Brewery

Now onto Kind Beers. This brewery has a Pale Ale and a Belgian Style Red Ale as well, both available in the bottle or draft around North Carolina. This brewery is based out of Charlotte, NC, and a motto of “fewer things that make up a better beer”. I had tried the Pale Ale at the Beertopia Festival a few months ago, so decided to partake of the Belgian Red for this USNWC event. It was a great Red ale, full of spicy and smooth notes in turns, with hints of citrus winding through each sip to cap it off. Kind Beers describes their two flagship ales below…

“Our Pale Ale is a stronger version of an American-Style Pale Ale but brewed with an international blend of malts including British Maris Otter Pale Malt and specialty malts Belgian Aromatic as well as Crystal 60. It is smooth and at 7.3% alcohol by volume, this stalwart pale ale is brewed to be more robust than the standard American-Style Pale Ale.”

“Our Belgian Style Red Ale pours a deep red and presents aromas of tropical fruit, citrus, and toasted malt.  It is brewed with a Belgian Trappist yeast, noble hops, and malt from Belgium and Germany.  Medium bodied and 6% abv, it is very drinkable yet still has complex flavors that only the right Belgian yeast can provide.”

So there you have it, two breweries from North Carolina, repping it well! Let me know if you’ve tried these yummy beers before, and what you think of them!

Craft You Later,
Beth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

So what do you think?

