• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Baking Is Science For Hungry People: Healthy Fudgy Brownies

Hello Baking Friends!

I know it’s been a minute since I’ve posted about baking, however I have now twice baked these brownies that I really think you’ll enjoy.

Healthy Fudgy Brownie!

I found this recipe from Baker On The Rise for Fudgy Black Bean Brownies. I know, I know… “Black Bean” + “Brownie” = ?!?!?!?!? I thought so too. But I thought they looked good, sounded intriguing, so I decided to attempt them after finding a few people (including my brother) who said they would try them. Victims volunteering, I just love it!

So here is what I did. And I mostly followed the recipe, you’ll be proud to know!

Drain and rinse out a can of black beans. Twice, maybe three times even. I like making sure my black beans are completely free of anything other than the beans!

Next, I took about 1/3 of the beans at a time and put them through my Magic Bullet Blender with 1 egg, for about 40 seconds. They’ll come out a bit foamy. Dump into a mixing bowl, and start over with the next 1/3 of the beans and egg. Since you need 3 eggs, this makes it very simple to not blow out your blender and also mushify all of the beans to a smooth and even finish. Yes, I did just say mushify, and no, I’m not taking it back. So there.

Mushified Beans + Brownie Mix-ins

Once all the beans are in the mixing bowl, I added 3 capfuls of blended oil, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 quick dash of salt. I mixed this with a plastic spoon for about 2 minutes until smooth.

Brownies + Chocolate Chips

Now take about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips and put those in the blender, pulsing, for about 20 seconds until chopped up pretty good. Add those to the batter and stir until it’s not lumpy. Pour into a prepared (sprayed with Pam if you’re like me!) 13×9 pan. Sprinkle with some more (non-chopped) chocolate chips. Bake at 350 Farenheit for 27 minutes, then turn oven off. Let cool in oven 2 minutes, then remove and cool on stovetop for 10 minutes. Store in a cool, dry place, with the pan(s) covered.

Brownie Batter

Additional notes:
– You can do 2 thin-layer 13×9 pans instead of 1 thick one and end up with 2 pans of smaller brownies – with 2 pans cooking about 27 minutes. The thinner layers taste more like brownies, the thicker layer tastes more cakey. Depends on what you want for how you should bake them!
– Or you can add coconut, nuts or dried fruit to the brownies’ batter and topping in addition to the chocolate chips.

Nutrition Facts: 
Prepared in 1 pan (15 thick brownies):
128 calories, 5.2g Fat (1.2g saturated), 38mg Cholesterol, 136mg Sodium, 18.2g Carbohydrates (2.6g Dietary Fiber, 12g Sugars), 3.6g Protein, 2% DV Calcium, 8% DV Iron

Prepared in 2 pans (30 thin brownies):
64 calories, 2.6g Fat (0.6g saturated), 19mg Cholesterol, 68mg Sodium, 9.1g Carbohydrates (1.3g Dietary Fiber, 6g Sugars), 1.8g Protein, 1% DV Calcium, 4% DV Iron

So I know this seems like a super big leap in the brownie world, however everyone seemed to really like these that has tried them so far. I’ve made them twice. I didn’t tell my coworkers they had black beans in them, of course, when I made them for them, though! Figured that way they’d actually try them un-biasedly! 😉 Hey I never said I wasn’t sneaky! Anyways, they said they tasted more cakey than normal brownies. However when I did the initial (2 pans of thin brownies) recipe, they actually tasted more like normal brownies and less cakey. Depends what you want, clearly! 🙂

Craft You Later,
Beth

Leave a comment

So what do you think?

