• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Baking is Science for Hungry People: Girl Scout Cheesecakelets

Hey all you bakers! All you experimenters! All you scientists in the kitchen! All you girl scout cookie lovers! All you cheesecake lovers! All you people who just love to eat desserts!

I have a treat for you, yes I do!

Girl Scout Cheesecakelets!

Last weekend, before Memorial Day itself, a friend of mine was having a community yard sale that would benefit her daughter’s girl scout troup in Harrisburg, NC. She had bought extra boxes of cookies back in January, just for this purpose – to help make some more money for her girls so they could go to their trip next Summer. I am all about helping out girl scouts, especially since one is my honorary niece!

So when my friend told me she needed my help to make some stuff that has girl scout cookies as  a base for the recipe, so people will realize they can do more than just eat the cookies ‘raw’ (so-to-speak), I of course told her I would do it!

I asked which cookies she had the most of, and found out it was Dulce de Leche, and Thank You Berry Munch. I personally LOVE both cookies, so I bought a box of each for myself. But I also then grabbed a box of each to bake something. Concoction ideas started pouring into my head, so fast that I had to start shaking my head to dislodge them! Some were prospectively great (cookies crumbled on top of frosting on cake) while some were not so great (cookie chunks in brownies). I finally decided on doing cheesecakelets (yes, I made that up, and no I will not take it back!) in cupcake liners so they’d be easy to sell, handle and transport!

So I ran to the store to get some cream cheese, vanilla Greek yogurt, eggs, milk and unsalted butter. I looked up a few cheesecake recipes to get a general feel for what I wanted to do, and then made sure I had my sugar, flour and brown sugar stocked up in the kitchen!

First off, I made the Thank You Berry Munch crust. For this, I took my Magic Bullet Blender and ground up about 8 cookies until they were purèed to the finest crumb possible. Then I combined the crumbs, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup melted butter in a bowl and mixed until evenly distributed, and kind of resembling a paste. 

Crust Ingredients…

The only difference I made for the Dulce de Leche cookie crust is that the cookies kinda had a thicker crumb – almost like peanut butter was mixed in with it. To counter this, I added 1/4 cup flour and 1/8 cup white sugar to the crumbs and brown sugar. I stirred that up good, then added the 1/4 cup melted butter, same as above.

Crust Mixed!

Next, pat the cookie crumbs into the bottom of some cupcake liners. I used about 1/2-2/3 of a teaspoon for each one, and made sure to pat the crumbs evenly to cover the entire bottom of the liner.

Crusts in Liners!

Now it’s time to make the cheesecake filling. In a mixing bowl that fits my stand mixer, I mixed 16 oz softened cream cheese, 6 oz vanilla Greek yogurt, 2 eggs, 1 tspn vanilla extract, and 1/2 cup sugar. Cream this really well until it is nice and smooth.

Cheesecake batter!

Now put about 1 heaping tablespoon of batter onto the crusts in the liners.

Raw Compiled Cheesecakelets!

Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes, until the cheesecake topping starts to split. Let cool for 10 minutes, then top with cookie pieces from the remaining cookies you have leftover. Store in the refrigerator at least an hour to cool them to enhance the flavor.

And voilà, now you have (roughly 40) Girl Scout Cheesecakelets to show off!

Baked Thank You Berry Munch Cheesecakelets!

Baked Dulce de Leche Cheesecakelets!

Craft You Later,
Beth

Leave a comment

So what do you think?

