• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Baking is Science for Hungry People: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hello Baking Fiends!

I had to make some chocolate chip cookies for my dad a while ago. He loooves chocolate chip cookies. Since I make them bite sized, it’s easier for him to grab quite a few but still not eat a ton, so it works out. He likes to eat cookies, I like to bake cookies, it’s a great father-daughter relationship, I tell ya! 😉

In addition, I have quite a few friends that enjoy cookies, so I have 3 main versions of these that I make pretty regularly for them: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip (PBCC), Double Chocolate Chip (DCC), and Chocolate Chip (CC) Cookies.

I do not use eggs. This recipe should NOT be subsituted with eggs, just as a warning. It won’t taste great, I promise. Try this way, it won’t hurt, I swear!

So first, I melt 1 cup margarine (or 2 sticks unsalted butter). This is one of the few times I prefer margarine. But shhhh! don’t tell anyone! 😉 Usually microwaving this on HIGH power for 45 seconds does the trick. You don’t want this boiling, you just want this melted. While this is melting, I preheat my oven to 375 F. I also put aluminum foil down on my cookie sheets, and spray the foil very lightly with cooking spray.

To the melted margarine/butter, dump in the following (but don’t stir until they’re all added in): 3/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon vanilla extract, 3-oz package sugar-free instant vanilla pudding mix. Stir these really well, until fully incorporated and the ‘dough’ is looking like creamed butter (a little grainy but mostly wet).

Now add in one of the following, depending on type of cookie:
PBCC: 1 cup crunchy peanut butter
DCC: 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder + 1/3 cup white sugar
CC: 1/2 cup brown sugar

Next add in the flour, and I usually add 2 cups, then another cup by the 1/4 cup until it’s all-around doughy. You want your dough to be able to be scooped by hand and not stick to you, but still able to stick to itself and not crumble apart when you put it on the sheet. The PBCC cookies, because of the peanut butter, will need a little more flour, whereas the other 2 types (DCC & CC) will need a little less.

Finally, add in your chocolate chips and stir really well. I like doing this after the flour, because it causes less strain when mixing, and also allows your dough to get to the right consistency without the extra hard bits blocking any of the dough areas from being mixed right.

Once you have your dough ready, take teaspoon-sized amounts of dough and roll them into balls. Place about 2 inches apart in any direction from each other on the cookie sheet. On a square baking sheet, I can fit between 20-25 cookies typically. Once they are on the sheet, pat them down a little so they are flattened just a bit. On occasion, I will roll the dough in granulated sugar before placing on the sheet. That is optional though!

Now to bake. I have this part down to an exact science. Put your 2 cookie sheets in the oven and set your kitchen timer to 7 minutes 25 seconds, exactly. Once it beeps, pull the cookies out, and let stand on the sheets for 2 minutes. Then remove to the cooling rack (or another cookie sheet covered in foil if you don’t have a rack), and let stand for 5 minutes to fully cool. They should be super easy to pull of the sheets once that first 2 minutes is done. 🙂

Observe the wonderfulness as it cools!

Typically, this recipe yields about 100-120 cookies for me, albeit bite-sized ones. They are delicious, easy to carry, easy to transport & package, and super easy to eat! YUM!

Here they are all prettied up in a box for a gift!

Enjoy, and until next time, enjoy these cookies and let me know how you like them!

Craft You Later,
Beth

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh yum! I might need to make some of these! Great post Bethany!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Let me know how you like them, I make them all the time but don’t think anyone else has ever tried my recipe before, haha! 🙂 I expect a full report! 😉

      Reply

So what do you think?

