• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Wednesday Beer Log – Feb 29

Happy Leap Year Day!!! Okay fine it’s a day later, but still, work with me here people!

Hello friends and craft beer lovers, I’m back with another installment of the Beer Log for my Blog! Hope you had a Hoppy Leap Day, and you enjoyed your extra day of the month.

I must say, though, it’s always amused me that people think the “monthly fees” gets jipped on leap years (yay!), when in fact it’s us payees that really get jipped each February by 3 days – except in leap years! Haha… I know I know, I’m a math dork with that comment, but hey I had to say it, this is my only chance for 4 more years! 😉

Okay back to the beer, after my little sidebar. Yes, I know you want the good stuff, and I’ve got plenty of it for you! First off, as I’m sure you’ll be surprised to hear, I attended another Charlotte Beer Babes event. Okay, you can stop the jaw-dropping-in-shock faces, I get it, really…

Anyways, we went out to see Chivonne from Tryon Distributing as she took us through a Craft Beer Tasting at the awesome members-only pub Dilworth Billiards, courtesy of Susan from our host pub DB. There was a whole slew of bottles to test out, and we had our handy dandy little plastic cups.

So the five beers that I tested out are coming, I promise, but first I would like to share our fearless Beer Babe leader’s t-shirt, which I think we can all agree is flipping flopping fantastic!
The @QCBeerBabe Herself, Queen of @CLTBeerBabes and #CltBeer enthusiast: Tracie!

THE QCBeerBabe!

So on to the beers. I promised you I’d get there, now I’m making good! So we had a few buckets of beers to chose from, and could taste at our leisure – just ask for what we wanted and voilà!

My Number One (in all ways): Unibroue’s La Fin Du Monde. First off, I have to say as a French Minor, listening to the various pronunciations of this beer were cracking me up all night long. So when I wasn’t choking in laughter, I was in heaven drinking this beer. If I could have adopted this beer, I probably would have. I like flavors in my beer. I like being able to feel like I’m on a palatte-journey when I try something new. And wowzah did this beer hit those points! So this Trippel-style beer was created by the brewery Unibroue (hehe), out of Quebec. It is 9% ABV, 19 IBUs and 5.5 SRMs, to get the technical specs in. This brew just has so much flavor, I found it a creamy, malty, fruity, honey-spiced goodness. YUM. Rate it on Beth’s Beer Scale: 5/5!!!!

#2 (this is actually drinking order, haha): Flying Dog’s Garde Dog. This 5.8% ABV, 27 IBU, 14 SRM bière de garde-style ale is steeped in history as a French spring/summer ale, and has a slightly hoppy, spiced malt flavor. Traditionally this type of ale is brewed to bring everyone out of the winter blues (okay, fine I ad-libbed that part, sue m—-wait no don’t!). I gave it a 3.5/5 rating.

#3: 21st Amendement’s Back In Black. This black IPA / cascadian dark ale has a very unique flavor that I quite enjoyed! This ale is 6.8% ABV, 65 IBUs and 40 SRMs. This super dark (think guinness in color) beer had a very malty and hoppy flavor that reminded me a little of a chocolate malt shake, to be honest. It wasn’t as creamy, but it had a kick-in-the-pants hopness to it that was settled by the malt flavor so that it didn’t overwhelm with all of the different hop flavors. I gave it a 4/5 rating.

#4: Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout. I have a confession. I’ve actually made beer bread with this beer before, and also used it for beef stew, but I have never actually drank this beer until last night! I know, I know, for shame on me… I’m hanging my head in shame while I type this, trust me! So this beer has a very full-on oatmeal flavor (the good kind that makes you think “MMMM!”), with a nice heavy molasses/maple syrup finish to get that Stout pull in with each sip. This has almost a brown sugar oatmeal flavor to it, I thought, which was really pleasant and not too overwhelming. This beer is 5% ABV, 35 IBUs, 25 SRMs in profile, and  I really do recommend it for drinking as much as cooking! 🙂 I give it a 4/5 rating.

#5: Allagash’s White Ale. This is a great citrusy, spicy white Belgian ale. It is a clear and pure  flavor, has 5.2% ABV, 15 IBUs, 10 SRMs, and has a really nice flavor to finish that carries a hint of spice to it. I cheated and looked it up, and it’s coriander. Yum. This was a great beer to finish the night with as it left the palatte feeling refreshed and delicious. I give it a 4/5 rating.

As for Dilworth Billiards itself, the highlight of the night was probably going out onto their courtyard and seeing their Koi Pond and extensive “patio” area, complete with a second mini-bar (not pictured, darn it) that was super fantastic to sit out on and around while we kibitzed some more!

Dilworth Billiards

KOI!

More Patio

Kibitzing!

So that completes this week’s round of beer reviews. Hope you all enjoyed, and please comment and let me know if you agree, disagree, like what I’m saying, don’t care at all, or so on and so forth. Just please be kind… 😉 But until next time….

Craft You Later!
Beth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Very nice pattern and fantastic content, nothing at all else we require :D.

    Reply

So what do you think?

