• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Baking is Science for Hungry People: Be Mine Cupcakes

Hello Baking Fiends — I mean Friends!

I am back with a collection of recipes that I made last night for my Valentines — I mean my guinea pigs — I mean my coworkers. Whew! That took a minute to get straight! I had asked a few of my coworkers yesterday what they wanted me to make and I got back Orange-Orange, Chocolate-Vanilla, and Chocolate-ChocolateMousse.

Now sadly I ran out of time and energy, and a working stand mixer (I’ll get to that later), and so couldn’t do the mousse. I could barely do the frosting, though thankfully my neighbors either didn’t hear my loud mixer or they at least didn’t call the cops on me. Could’ve gone either way, let me tell you, as the silly thing was loud and obnoxious to the Nth degree.

So I researched and gathered my ingredients, and made my plan of attack for the baking. I wanted to do the Orange first as that was a brand-spanking-new recipe from top to bottom.

Using a recipe that I followed almost to the letter, that I took from the TechnicolorKitchenInEnglish Blog, I mixed up my Clementine Cupcakes. Let me stop us all right here and say that I think these would have been great if I had baked them for a little less time, or added in more cream, as they came out a little dry the way I did them. I don’t think this was the recipe, but me adapting it to cupcakes a little less-then-perfectly. However I have been told the flavor of it is spot-on, and the frosting helps the dryness. Whew!

Okay for the Clementine Cupcakes, mix a little under a 1/2 stick of unsalted butter with a rounded 3/8 cup sugar in your stand mixer until creamy. Add 1 egg, beating well, and then add in a rounded 3/4 cup flour and 5/8 tspn baking powder, mixing well. Add in 1 tbspn milk (I will do 2 tbspn next time), the zest and juice of 1 clementine, and mix until smooth. Spoon the mixture into cupcakes and bake for 16-18 minutes at 350°F, until just set. Remove from oven and let cool, covered for overnight. ***Makes 12 cupcakes***

For the frosting, I beat 4 oz whipping cream into submission, added in 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tspn vanilla, and the zest & juice of 1 clementine. Mixed that until it was fully incorporated and then refrigerated it overnight to harden it up a bit. In the morning, I topped the cupcakes with the frosting and then 1 slice of a clementine. ***Makes frosting enough for 48 cupcakes (whoopsies!)***  Observe the masterpiece!

Clementine Cupcakes

 Next up, the Vanilla and Chocolate Cupcakes. I totally cheated on these, I will not lie, and since I was using the same recipe for both, with minute changes, I mixed the full batch up to split later. So, that said… 🙂 Let the fun commence again!

Cream 3/4 cup unsalted butter and 1 cup sugar. Gradually add in 2 1/2 cups flour, 2 tspn baking powder, 1/2 tspn salt, 1 tspn vanilla and 1/2 cup heavy cream. Mix well. Add a little extra heavy cream by the dollop if needed if the batter is too thick. Now, take out half of your batter and set aside.  ***Will have 30 cupcakes total depending on splits*.**

To the half still in the bowl, mix in 1/4 cup cocoa powder(quite thoroughly, then another 2 minutes’ worth for giggles, trust me!). Now you have your chocolate cupcake batter! Bake these for 20 minutes at 350°F, remove from oven, cool, and cover overnight.

To the other half, pour into the (rinsed) bowl, mix in 2 tbspns vanilla extract, and mix it really well. Now you have your vanilla cupcake batter! Bake these for 20 minutes at 350°F, remove from oven, cool, and cover overnight.

For the frostings… Caramel Frosting for Chocolate Cupcakes. Strawberry Frosting for Vanilla Cupcakes. Yum.

First make a caramel sauce (recommend doing this while you are cooking the split cupcakes). In a small saucepan over low heat, combine 5/8 cup brown sugar with 1/8 cup heavy cream, stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon. Wooden is key, trust me. Once it starts to bubble lightly, add in a little over 1/3 stick of unsalted butter and stir until fully melted. Let sit (still over low heat), stirring occasionally, until starts to bubble again. Let it bubble for about 5 minutes, then remove from heat and let cool.

Once caramel sauce has cooled, add to 4 oz of beaten-to-submission whipping cream, and mix with 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, beating until smooth. Put in airtight container (or place saran wrap directly against the frosting to form a seal-like ‘top’ and let sit like that), and refrigerate overnight.

For the strawberry frosting, beat-to-submission 4 oz of whipping cream, add in 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 tspn vanilla, and 1/2 cup frozen (thawed) strawberry pieces. Beat this mixture up really well until the strawberry pieces are fully incorporated into the frosting. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Once the Chocolate Cupcakes have been topped with Caramel Frosting, top each cupake with 1 chocolate chip (I use the larger chips, works better, plus it’s more chocolate!), and observe the beauty!

Chocolate-Caramel Cupcakes

Once the Vanilla Cupcakes are topped with Strawberry Frosting, top each cupcake with a pinch of red sprinkles (or fresh sliced strawberry if you have it, which I didn’t). Yum!

Vanilla-Strawberry Cupcakes

Once I brought them into work, look how pretty they traveled! 🙂

Work Delivery 1

Work Delivery 2

Sprinkle bottle was used to keep them from sliding, just ignore that, haha…

I really really liked them all, thought the Clementines definitely needed improvement in the cake alone, but thought they all were equally delicious! Until later, though, please let me know what you think of these!

Craft you later!
~ Beth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Baking Is Science For Hungry People: Chocolate Cupcakes « youbettercraftaround

So what do you think?

