• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Wednesday Beer Log – Feb 8

Why hello again my friends and fellows! I know I’ve been a little bit slack lately on posting, however I promise to start doing better! I have at least decided to do a Wednesday Beer Log each week, and 1 cooking and 1 baking thing each week as well. So woohoo, I have a plan, yay, lalalalala, and happy doo da day! Now, to get started on the good stuff: the last week in adult beverages, mostly, of course, beer!

This past Sunday was a kinda big day for American Football. You may have heard of it? Super Bowl Sunday…? No, oh well too bad. Yes, you say? Then you were similarly situated in front of a television anxiously awaiting the assumedly-and-hopefully-uber-creative ads that people have spent literally millions of dollars making for this ONE opportunity to hit millions of people at once. And, oh yeah, there was a sport game on, these two teams called the Giants and the Patriots. You may have heard of them. They’re both kinda good at football…. 🙂 And totally non-beer related, this was my favorite Superbowl commercial by far!

So because of this great football game, a few of us were able to get together at a ‘new’ restaurant (only I had  been there before) in Charlotte’s Southend, the British pub Big Ben. They had Crispin Cider on special, and they also had Young’s Double Chocolate Stout in a bottle. So in true current-Beth-beer-of-choice fashion, I asked them to mix my two beers of choice up like a Black & Tan, and voilà – deliciousness in a glass! Take a look at these yummy choices – mmmm!

As a note – I have found that Crispin cider (très yummy!) works MUCH better than Woodchuck for doing this mix. Also, the Double Chocolate Stout is absolutely delicious on its own, and most Stouts work pretty well mixed with the Ciders. This drink, overall, tastes like a really sweetly chocolatey kick in the pants. It is deeeelicious. Truly. A very few of my guy friends that I have had (okay, fine, I totally whined and browbeat them until they gave in graciously and took the token sip I was offering) try this have likened it to a Now Or Later candy flavor. Every other guy that has tried it, and EVERY lady, has absolutely loved the flavor of this concoction.

Crispin Hard Cider

Youngs Double Chocolate Stout

Next up: my brother is a HUUUGE and I mean huge Dogfish Head Brewery fan. He especially, like most people, is a fan of the 60, 90 and 120 minute IPAs. So like a good sister, I treated him to a 6-pack of the 60 minute IPA this week. And like a good brother, he shared with me on Monday while we were catching up on DVR’ed episodes of Flashpoint(yes, I love that show, and yes, you should totally check it out!). 🙂 Yay for good siblings! So the beer, it’s a great IPA, very light and very hoppy, but not too overpowering on the hops. A good light citrus kick at the end of the sip.

Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA

Next up, on Tuesday, a friend & I tried Troegs BreweryDream Weaver Wheat Beer. I really enjoyed it – a citrusy wheat beer, light enough that it went great with Cheese Pizza, but heavy enough that I didn’t feel like I was drinking a completely bland beer. It added a very nice spice in there as well, which was a perfect balance with the pizza. Highly recommend this beer if you like lighter wheat beers. Similar flavor palate to a Hefeweizen, if that helps!

Dream Weaver

Finally, our non-beer adult drink for this ‘episode’… Today I spent 5 hours  helping one of my good friends get her house packed into a moving truck for her almost-cross-country move. Because my brother is completely awesome, he went with me and was our ‘muscle’ for the event. So after we finished up, I took my brother to TGI Fridays for a hearty dinner. Since my friend is a HUGE fan of Jack Daniels, I decided to have a JackBerry Smash in her honor, even if she wasn’t there to share in the wonderfulness with me. I thought of her with it, so that counts, right?!?! This drink is basically Jack Daniels, Berry Vodka, splash of Sprite and smashed blackberries. Yum!!!

JackBerry Smash

So that is today’s episode of the beer log, hope you guys enjoyed, and hope you let me know if you like any of these drinks and if you have any recommendations for me to try.

Craft You Later,
Beth

Previous Post
Leave a comment

So what do you think?

