• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Easy Sunday Dinner – Fancy BBQ Chicken Plate

Everyone has had that night of the week that they just want to have a nice, relaxing, filling meal, but they don’t want to spend 3 hours fixing it. I had that on Sunday. My brother and his girlfriend were in the same mindset – “Nice dinner but quick, please!”

Now I don’t know about you all, but I always have a selection of canned and frozen vegetables on hand, as well as a good selection of frozen meats (chicken, fish, ground turkey are my staples). Plus don’t get me started on the spices and other staples in my kitchen at all times – I will get all giddy and start thinking about what I should have more of, which will mean my brother will try to talk me out of it. So safer for us all this way. 🙂

As a side note, I feel completely out of date. I just saw a real-not-just-on-TV George Forman Grill for the first ever at my friend’s on Saturday. Their son turned 2 and so they were grilling hot dogs on it. I was enthralled, to the amusement of my friends, and then totally shocked when they told me they had an extra and just gave it to me!

So yes, now you know where I’m going and why I inserted that side note. Not just a random ramble after all, muahahaha. Ahahaha. Yes, I became a George Forman Griller on Sunday. We voted on Chicken for dinner, and creamed corn for the vegetable. I was left to my own devices for what kind of chicken, and what other side item. Always dangerous. >>:-D

Alright, so I went through my kitchen & cupboards and found that I had some barbeque sauce making stuff, and some quinoa. Hmmm. I do like to experiment with foods on my brother. Quinoa sounds like a good way to do that. For anyone who is unfamiliar with this grainy crop, it is pronounced keen-wah, and more information can be found here!

I had bought mine in bulk from Earth Fare, one of my favorite stores ever, and ended up with just over a cup worth of raw black quinoa. At Earth Fare, they put on the bulk items how to prepare them, and this said to mix 1.5 parts water with 1 part quinoa, boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes. So I decided to kinda-sorta follow this. I put about 2 cups of water in a saucepan over medium heat, added a dash of salt, and let it boil. Then I added my quinoa in, and let that boil for about 6 minutes. While it was boiling, I added 1 tablespoon (ish) of olive oil and 1.5 teaspoons of chopped tarragon, to add a little flavor. I thought this up, not from a recipe I referenced so was unsure, but it smelled good (always my judger: olfaction) so I figured we’d go with it… 🙂 Once the quinoa was boiling for a few minutes, with me stirring on occasion, I set the heat on low, didn’t cover, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes, +/- 2. 🙂 There, that is now done!

Creamed corn, I totally cheated and used the canned creamed corn by Green Giant (Green Giant!), just microwaving in the microwave for 2:30 minutes to heat them up. No frills, just creamed corn. 🙂

Then came the chicken. I did this in between the steps of the quinoa fixing, as a full disclosure… I preheated my George Forman grill for about 6 minutes, and while it was preheating (I sprayed it with Pam, of course!), I made up my sauce. Totally made this up from digging in my cupboards and fridge and going off of smell… I’m sure you’re shocked to hear this, but please contain yourselves, as hard as it may be… 😉

5 Ingredient BBQ Sauce!

In a small bowl, dump in 2 tablespoons Iron Works BBQ Seasoning, 2-3 tbspn ketchup, 1 tspn olive oil, 1 tspn worcestershire sauce, and 1 tspn apple cider vinegar.

Mixed BBQ Sauce!

Mix together well until not lumpy. Dip your chicken in the sauce until fully covered. **Note: I put a small spoonful of sauce on each dinner plate BEFORE basting the chicken so you avoid salmonella but get extra sauce!

GF Grilling BBQ Chicken!

Put your BBQ-basted chicken on your grill, close and cook for 9 minutes or so. Make sure it is fully cooked, also make sure (with the George Forman if you’re using) that the drip pan is completely up against the grill to catch the sauce. I actually took the drippings halfway through cooking the chicken, and rebasted the chicken with them – after I flipped the chicken on the grill, of course!

Grilled BBQ Chicken!

Once the chicken is done, plate it on the extra sauce, maybe flip it around in it to spread the bbq sauce love around, and then plate the rest of your food!

Voilà: Sunday Dinner!

And once you’ve plated the rest of the food, you have a simple, quick, pretty, yummy dinner! Note: the quinoa mixed in with a bit of the creamed corn is really yummy, too! 😉

Enjoy and let me know if you like this or not, love to hear feedback!

Craft You Later!
Beth

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yum! This looks delish!! Wish it was at my house right now, instead of no food.

    Reply

So what do you think?

