• What Have I Done For You Lately…

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Snowflakes falling in my globe!

So a friend of mine has a great blog with her sister, twodelighted, and a few entries ago they posted this great craft idea where they recreated the Anthropologie $45 Snow Globe (non-liquid). And not for $45. Yay for DIY genius!!!

I decided to attempt it, so I went to Hobby Lobby and spent a whopping $17.82. I bought a high-temp glue gun, glow-in-the-dark glue sticks, 2 mason jars with lids (one wide-mouth & one smaller), white glitter, a 4-pack of miniature evergreen trees, a pack of miniature light strands, and a pack of miniature white doves.

Gotta love trying to craft something and finding out that WHOOPS there was a dust bunny living there, or AYEYAYAY how does a grease splat appear there in the middle of my beautiful creation?!? So in the interest of avoiding the Home Alone face-slaps, I started off by wiping the jars down with a cottonball soaked with rubbing alcohol. Next I cut the light strand into 4 equal lengths, and hot-glued one length around each of 3 trees to look like a Christmas tree. Then I hot-glued a few doves on each of the trees. Taking the lids off the mason jars, I hot-glued the trees in the middle of the round inserts of the lids (not along the edges – give the tree space!). I spread a little extra hot glue around the base of the lids, and on the trees, then sprinkled the glitter all around – over a large bowl! Man that stuff spreads around like wildfire in a drought! Let this dry about 5 minutes, which lets you de-gunk your fingers from all that glue you have on you now (don’t lie, you know it’s there!).

I took the excess glitter, and about 1/4″ inch more, and dumped it into the actual mason jar. Then I took the tree-decked-out lid and carefully put it (upside down) into the jar, and screwed the lid on tight. Up-end the snow globe and watch the glitter fall all around your pretty trees – and not all over you! šŸ™‚ Best part is that you can adjust whatever you need to as you go, just make sure that you shake the jar (upside down, lid-side-up) a few times to make sure no glitter is lying in wait, ready to scream FREEEEEDOM!!!! once you take the tree-lid out. šŸ˜‰ That is my clean advice for you. Nice thing is that I have enough to make one more smaller jar, if I just pick up 1 more $1.29 jar from Hobby Lobby! So thanks to the girls of twodelighted, for under $20 I have 3 Snow Globe Jars that would have cost over double that each from Anthropologie! Take a peek and let me know what you think of my attempt!

Next up for the Snow Globe Project: figuring out how to make them with liquid and non-clumping glitter! šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment

So what do you think?

